The Year of Voting Dangerously

The Year of Voting Dangerously
  • Author : Maureen Dowd
  • Publisher : Twelve
  • Release : 2016-09-13
  • ISBN : 9781455539246
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Maureen Dowd's incendiary takes and takedowns from 2016--the most bizarre, disruptive and divisive Presidential race in modern history. Trapped between two candidates with the highest recorded unfavorables, Americans are plunged into The Year of Voting Dangerously. In this perilous and shocking campaign season, The New York Times columnist traces the psychologies and pathologies in one of the nastiest and most significant battles of the sexes ever. Dowd has covered Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton since the '90s. She was with the real estate mogul when he shyly approached his first Presidential rope line in 1999, and she won a Pulitzer prize that same year for her penetrating columns on the Clinton impeachment follies. Like her bestsellers, Bushworld and Are Men Necessary?, THE YEAR OF VOTING DANGEROUSLY will feature Dowd's trademark cocktail of wry humor and acerbic analysis in dispatches from the political madhouse. If America is on the escalator to hell, then THE YEAR OF VOTING DANGEROUSLY is the perfect guide for this surreal, insane ride.

On Leadership

On Leadership
  • Author : John Gardner
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 1993-03-12
  • ISBN : 9780029113127
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Drawing on an intensive five-year field study of organizations and hundreds of interviews with contemporary leaders, the author of Excellence presents a brilliant examination of leadership as it is practiced--or malpracticed--in America today. Gardner has served seven presidents in various leadership capacities.

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen Listen So Kids Will Talk

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen   Listen So Kids Will Talk
  • Author : Adele Faber
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 1999-10-01
  • ISBN : 9780380811960
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Details a program for improving communication between parents and children, providing sample dialogues, role-playing exercises, and humorous yet illuminating cartoons

Being Mortal

Being Mortal
  • Author : Atul Gawande
  • Publisher : Metropolitan Books
  • Release : 2014-10-07
  • ISBN : 9781627790550
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending Medicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable. But in the inevitable condition of aging and death, the goals of medicine seem too frequently to run counter to the interest of the human spirit. Nursing homes, preoccupied with safety, pin patients into railed beds and wheelchairs. Hospitals isolate the dying, checking for vital signs long after the goals of cure have become moot. Doctors, committed to extending life, continue to carry out devastating procedures that in the end extend suffering. Gawande, a practicing surgeon, addresses his profession's ultimate limitation, arguing that quality of life is the desired goal for patients and families. Gawande offers examples of freer, more socially fulfilling models for assisting the infirm and dependent elderly, and he explores the varieties of hospice care to demonstrate that a person's last weeks or months may be rich and dignified. Full of eye-opening research and riveting storytelling, Being Mortal asserts that medicine can comfort and enhance our experience even to the end, providing not only a good life but also a good end.

Armageddon

Armageddon
  • Author : Dick Morris
  • Publisher : Humanix Books
  • Release : 2016-05-27
  • ISBN : 9781630060596
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

New York Times Bestseller AT STAKE: THE FUTURE OF AMERICA The 2016 election is truly America's Armageddon—the ultimate and decisive battle to save America, a fight to defeat Hillary Clinton and the forces seeking to flout our constitutional government and replace it with an all-powerful president backed up by an activist judiciary that answers to no one. Already President Obama has moved America far down this path, and a President Clinton will act as his "third term," institutionalizing the excesses of the past eight years. In Armageddon, bestselling author and political strategist Dick Morris provides a winning game plan to take back the White House, and America. Because this is our last chance: • Our last chance to stop socialist uniformity, corruption and executive usurpation • Our last chance to curb welfare programs that are destroying the economic and social fabric of the nation • Our last chance to secure our border and keep our sovereignty • Our last chance to stand up against ISIS and terrorism • Our last chance to protect the Second Amendment We can do it. We must. It's our last chance. Read Armageddon, or risk losing the battle to save America! On Tuesday, November 8, 2016, American voters will make a momentous decision. They will decide whether or not this great country will remain a free market, constitutional democracy. The stakes could not be higher. If Hillary Clinton is elected president, it will mean the end of the America we know and love. Armageddon, by New York Times bestselling authors Dick Morris and Eileen McGann, is a call to arms, a call to join that ultimate battle. Few know Hillary Clinton better than Dick Morris. For almost two decades he served as a special adviser to both her and her husband, Bill Clinton. He knows their strengths, their vulnerabilities, and even their deepest secrets. In Armageddon, Morris offers a manual on how to win this battle and defeat Hillary once and for all. He argues that a typical Republican campaign won’t work—and that Hillary’s opponent must strike her in a very unorthodox and powerful way. Morris says it’s a winning strategy and voters play a critical role. A noted political strategist, Dick Morris has created winning strategies for numerous presidential campaigns in the U.S. and abroad. In this book he lays out a war plan, one the Republican nominee must use to prevent her victory: • Throw a surprising right jab: terrorism and healthcare • Throw the left hook: jobs, immigration, Wall Street • Play her game on class warfare: women, Latinos, and young voters Republicans need to stop playing by the old rules of the game. Those rules don’t work—they elected Barack Obama twice. Obama has changed America in fundamental ways and Morris posits that Hillary’s opponents need to grasp this and implement a strategy that can finally defeat her.

Carry On Warrior

Carry On  Warrior
  • Author : Glennon Doyle
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 2014-04-08
  • ISBN : 9781451698220
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

A New York Times essayist shares her journey from a self-destructive college student to a devoted family woman and teacher while illuminating the importance of trusting in a higher power and being truthful about life's challenges.

The Four Agreements

The Four Agreements
  • Author : Don Miguel Ruiz
  • Publisher : Amber-Allen Publishing
  • Release : 2010-01-18
  • ISBN : 9781934408018
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Bestselling author don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love. • A New York Times bestseller for over 7 years • Over 5.2 million copies sold in the U.S. • Translated into 38 languages worldwide Don Miguel Ruiz’s book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.” — Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success “An inspiring book with many great lessons . . .” — Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic “In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distills essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.” — Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

The Red Bandanna Young Readers Adaptation

The Red Bandanna  Young Readers Adaptation
  • Author : Tom Rinaldi
  • Publisher : Penguin
  • Release : 2017-09-05
  • ISBN : 9780425287637
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Winner of the Christopher Award An ILA-CBC Children’s Choices Book A NCSS-CBC Notable Social Studies Book Welles Crowther did not see himself as hero. He was just an ordinary kid who played sports, volunteered at his local fire department, and eventually headed off to college and then Wall Street to start a career. Throughout it all, he always kept a red bandanna in his pocket, a gift from his father. On September 11, 2001, Welles was working on the 104th floor of the South Tower of the World Trade Center when the Twin Towers were attacked. That day, Welles made a fearless choice, and in doing so, saved many lives. The survivors didn’t know his name, but one of them remembered a single detail clearly: the man was wearing a red bandanna. Welles Crowther was a hero. Award-winning ESPN reporter Tom Rinaldi brings Welles's inspirational story of selflessness and compassion to life in this accessible young readers’ adaptation of his New York Times bestselling book. This powerful story of making a difference through our actions is perfect for helping the post-9/11 generation understand the meaning of this historic day through the eyes of one young man. “Rinaldi’s young reader edition of his award-winning adult story puts a face on that day (9/11), a hero’s face, and brings to young people someone who stood brave in the toughest of times and who, in the end, was lost doing his best to help others survive.”—VOYA

Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451
  • Author : Ray Bradbury
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 1968
  • ISBN : 067187229X
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

A fireman in charge of burning books meets a revolutionary school teacher who dares to read. Depicts a future world in which all printed reading material is burned.

Clean House Clean Planet

Clean House Clean Planet
  • Author : Karen Logan
  • Publisher : Simon and Schuster
  • Release : 1997-04-01
  • ISBN : 9780671535957
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Provides simple recipes for non-toxic cleaners made from inexpensive, common ingredients, and offers tips on how to clean a home safely.