The Goldfinch

The Goldfinch
  • Author : Donna Tartt
  • Publisher :
  • Release : 2014
  • ISBN : 0349139636
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2014 Aged thirteen, Theo Decker, son of a devoted mother and a reckless, largely absent father, survives an accident that otherwise tears his life apart. Alone and rudderless in New York, he is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. He is tormented by an unbearable longing for his mother, and down the years clings to the thing that most reminds him of her: a small, strangely captivating painting that ultimately draws him into the criminal underworld. As he grows up, Theo learns to glide between the drawing rooms of the rich and the dusty antiques store where he works. He is alienated and in love - and his talisman, the painting, places him at the centre of a narrowing, ever more dangerous circle. The Goldfinch is a haunted odyssey through present-day America and a drama of enthralling power. Combining unforgettably vivid characters and thrilling suspense, it is a beautiful, addictive triumph - a sweeping story of loss and obsession, of survival and self-invention, of the deepest mysteries of love, identity and fate.

The Book

The Book
  • Author : Alan W. Watts
  • Publisher : Vintage
  • Release : 2011-09-28
  • ISBN : 9780307807878
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

In The Book, Alan Watts provides us with a much-needed answer to the problem of personal identity, distilling and adapting the Hindu philosophy of Vedanta. At the root of human conflict is our fundamental misunderstanding of who we are. The illusion that we are isolated beings, unconnected to the rest of the universe, has led us to view the “outside” world with hostility, and has fueled our misuse of technology and our violent and hostile subjugation of the natural world. To help us understand that the self is in fact the root and ground of the universe, Watts has crafted a revelatory primer on what it means to be human—and a mind-opening manual of initiation into the central mystery of existence.

Made to Stick

Made to Stick
  • Author : Chip Heath
  • Publisher : Random House
  • Release : 2007-01-02
  • ISBN : 9781588365965
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The instant classic about why some ideas thrive, why others die, and how to improve your idea’s chances—essential reading in the “fake news” era. Mark Twain once observed, “A lie can get halfway around the world before the truth can even get its boots on.” His observation rings true: Urban legends, conspiracy theories, and bogus news stories circulate effortlessly. Meanwhile, people with important ideas—entrepreneurs, teachers, politicians, and journalists—struggle to make them “stick.” In Made to Stick, Chip and Dan Heath reveal the anatomy of ideas that stick and explain ways to make ideas stickier, such as applying the human scale principle, using the Velcro Theory of Memory, and creating curiosity gaps. Along the way, we discover that sticky messages of all kinds—from the infamous “kidney theft ring” hoax to a coach’s lessons on sportsmanship to a vision for a new product at Sony—draw their power from the same six traits. Made to Stick will transform the way you communicate. It’s a fast-paced tour of success stories (and failures): the Nobel Prize-winning scientist who drank a glass of bacteria to prove a point about stomach ulcers; the charities who make use of the Mother Teresa Effect; the elementary-school teacher whose simulation actually prevented racial prejudice. Provocative, eye-opening, and often surprisingly funny, Made to Stick shows us the vital principles of winning ideas—and tells us how we can apply these rules to making our own messages stick. BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Chip Heath and Dan Heath's Switch.

The Last One

The Last One
  • Author : Alexandra Oliva
  • Publisher : Ballantine Books
  • Release : 2017-08-15
  • ISBN : 9781101966839
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

"For readers of Station Eleven and The Passage comes a dazzling and unsettling novel of psychological suspense. In Alexandra Oliva's thrilling fiction debut, survival is the name of the game, as the line blurs between reality TV and reality itself--and one woman's mind and body are pushed to the limit. She wanted an adventure. She never imagined it would go this far. It begins with a reality TV show. Twelve contestants are sent into the woods to face challenges that will test the limits of their endurance. While they are out there, something terrible happens--but how widespread is the destruction, and has it occurred naturally or is it man-made? Cut off from society, the contestants know nothing of it. When one of them--a young woman the show's producers call Zoo--stumbles across the devastation, she can imagine only that it is part of the game. Alone and disoriented, Zoo is heavy with doubt regarding the life--and husband--she left behind, but she refuses to quit. Staggering countless miles across unfamiliar territory, Zoo must summon all her survival skills--and learn new ones as she goes. But as her emotional and physical reserves dwindle, she grasps that the real world might have been altered in terrifying ways--and her ability to parse the charade will be either her triumph or her undoing. Sophisticated and provocative, The Last One is a novel that forces us to confront the role that media plays in our perception of what is real: how readily we cast our judgments, how easily we are manipulated. Advance praise for The Last One: "The Last One seamlessly melds two of our contemporary obsessions--the threat of global catastrophe and the staged drama of reality TV--into a fiercely imagined tale of the human psyche under stress. This is an uncompromising, thought-provoking debut."--Justin Cronin. "Haunting, moving, and remarkable, Alexandra Oliva's debut novel is clever in its concept and gripping in its delivery. This propulsive book is for everyone who ever thought reality television signaled the end of the world."--Karen Joy Fowler. "Taut, tense, and at times almost unbearably real, The Last One is both a compelling read, and a terrifyingly believable evocation of survival against the odds."--Ruth Ware, New York Times bestselling author of In a Dark, Dark Wood. "Page-turning and deeply unsettling."--Rosamund Lupton, internationally bestselling author of Sister"--

Night on Fire

Night on Fire
  • Author : Douglas Corleone
  • Publisher : Minotaur Books
  • Release : 2011-04-26
  • ISBN : 1429962097
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Kevin Corvelli---a hotshot New York defense attorney who packed up his bags and hung his shingle in Hawaii to dodge the spotlight---is deep in his mai tais at a resort when an argument erupts down at the other end of the bar. It's a pair of newlyweds, married that very day on the beach. And since Corvelli doesn't do divorces, he all but dismisses the argument. That's at least until the fire breaks out later that night, and he barely escapes his hotel room. Most weren't so lucky, including the new husband. His wife, Erin, becomes not only the police's prime suspect for arson and murder but also Corvelli's newest client, and she has a lot working against her, like motive and opportunity, not to mention a history of starting fires. The heat gets turned all the way up in Douglas Corleone's scorching legal thriller Night on Fire, his second following the MB/MWA's First Crime Novel Competition winner, One Man's Paradise.

100 Words Kids Need to Read by 1st Grade

100 Words Kids Need to Read by 1st Grade
  • Author : Lisa Traumbauer
  • Publisher : SCHOLASTIC
  • Release : 2003
  • ISBN : 0439320240
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

A colorful, engaging, FUN language arts workbook thats gives first-graders practice with reading and writing sight (high-frequency) words. Based on Scholastic Magazines successful "100 Words" product line, this exciting new series of language arts workbooks focuses on the 100 sight words first-graders need to read. Colorful art and photographs illustrate the 256 pages of lively activities, including practice pages, word games, and puzzles. Six cut-and-fold mini-books encourage children to try out their sight-word skills--by reading! Includes a poster and stickers for more educational fun!

Baby and Toddler Cookbook

Baby and Toddler Cookbook
  • Author : Tarla Dalal
  • Publisher : Sanjay & Co
  • Release : 2001-08
  • ISBN : 8186469575
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Baby And Toddler Cookbook Is A Befitting Sequel To The 'Pregnancy Cookbook'. This Book Hopes To Provide Answers To All The Queries Of Budding Mummies Regarding When, What And How Much To Feed Their Little Ones Right From The Age Of 5 Months To 3 Years. My Team Of Nutritionists Has Carefully Analysed Each Recipe To Ensure That They Are 'Baby Friendly' And Fulfill Your Little One'S Nutritional Requirements While Satisfying Her Palate Too.

The Confident Woman Devotional

The Confident Woman Devotional
  • Author : Joyce Meyer
  • Publisher : FaithWords
  • Release : 2018-10-16
  • ISBN : 9781546010586
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Revised and Expanded Edition God has created you to be confident, bold, and free-free to be yourself, free from the need to compare yourself to others, and free to step into His destiny for your life. Based on her #1 New York Times bestseller The Confident Woman, Joyce Meyer taps into concerns and issues that many women commonly experience-lack of confidence, poor self-image, dysfunctional relationships-and provides encouragement and practical wisdom to help resolve problems in those areas of life. In today's busy, fast-paced world, it's easy to forget the need to slow down and live in the present, while holding on to personal "baggage" that's keeping you from being the woman God created you to be. But this powerful daily devotional, revised and expanded with new insights, inspirational quotes, and practical action items, will help you on your journey toward a confident life filled with love, laughter, and God's acceptance, one day at time.

Good Day Good Night

Good Day  Good Night
  • Author : Margaret Wise Brown
  • Publisher : HarperCollins UK
  • Release : 2017-10-05
  • ISBN : 9780008261191
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

A never-before-published picture book from Margaret Wise Brown, the bestselling author of Goodnight Moon, brought to life by Loren Long, #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator.

The Hard Thing About Hard Things

The Hard Thing About Hard Things
  • Author : Ben Horowitz
  • Publisher : Harper Collins
  • Release : 2014-03-04
  • ISBN : 9780062273215
  • Language : En, Es, Fr & De

Book Description :

Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, offers essential advice on building and running a startup—practical wisdom for managing the toughest problems business school doesn’t cover, based on his popular ben’s blog. While many people talk about how great it is to start a business, very few are honest about how difficult it is to run one. Ben Horowitz analyzes the problems that confront leaders every day, sharing the insights he’s gained developing, managing, selling, buying, investing in, and supervising technology companies. A lifelong rap fanatic, he amplifies business lessons with lyrics from his favorite songs, telling it straight about everything from firing friends to poaching competitors, cultivating and sustaining a CEO mentality to knowing the right time to cash in. Filled with his trademark humor and straight talk, The Hard Thing About Hard Things is invaluable for veteran entrepreneurs as well as those aspiring to their own new ventures, drawing from Horowitz's personal and often humbling experiences.